Review of NBC’s Dracula (Scoop)

Posted: October 28, 2013 in Dracula, Fantasy, Review, Vampire
Tags: , , , , ,

Here is a quick review of what I thought of the premier of NBC’s Dracula. 

So the first thing the supernatural vampire does after he is brought back to life is to become an industrialist, so he can bring free electricity to London. Interesting….

The storyline is that long ago, an organization called, the Order of the Dragon, killed Dracula’s love by burning her.  However, while Dracula was imprisoned, the members of the Order evolved and became wealthy business men, with heavy interest in oil.

Dracula’s diabolical scheme for revenge is to replace the need for oil with free electricity.  This would bankrupt the members of the Order, leaving then powerless, and Dracula will have his revenge.  I suspect that Dracula will also kill then one by one.

(Sounds like today’s politics to me)

I was truly hoping that Dracula would be a great series, but in my opinion, it fell flat on its face.

Look, I get it.  The creators of the show decided to get a bunch a good looking people, put them in a show and hoped for the best.  I saw all the tweets about how good-looking Jonathan Rhys is, but looks cannot carry a television series alone.

The latest scoop and twist in the story is that Van Helsing will become Dracula’s partner in crime.  It seems that the Order of the Dragon are also responsible for killing Helsing’s loved ones.  If this union does take place, then this will be the worst adaptation of Dracula I have ever seen.  I’ve heard of being creative, but this is just silly.

Now if Van Helsing were to fight both Dracula and the Order, then it could get interesting.  Unfortunately, no one asked me.

By the way, Dracula uses the technology of Nikola Tesla to create electricity. Nikola Tesla was alive in the late 1890’s.  Did Dracula just steal his invention or didn’t anyone think about that part of the story.

I give this series 1 out of 5 stars.

Leave a comment